Grammy Awards 2020 Academy Awards (Oscars) 2020 American Football Basketball Cricket Cycling Cyclo-cross Darts Esports Football Handball Horse racing Ice Hockey Motorsport Olympics 2020 Poker Politics Rugby Union Snooker Tennis Trotting WWE Other sports Other odds Old odds Sports Betting Casinos No deposit casinos UK Casinoranker

History of Man of the Tournament award

Credit -

The cricket World Cup is the pinnacle for any team, but for individual honours, being named as the Man of the Tournament is the highest accolade a player can get. Although the World Cup itself has been competed for since 1975, the award for Man of the Tournament was only introduced in the 1992 edition for the tournament.

There will be a tight contest between the star players of each country at the cricket World Cup 2019. Here, we take a look at the previous players to win the Man of the Tournament award.

­Martin Crowe – 1992

The inaugural winner of the Man of the Tournament, New Zealand captain Martin Crowe produced some incredible results as New Zealand reached the semi-finals, losing out to eventual winners Pakistan.

Against rivals Australia in the first match, he scored 100 not out, but his form rapidly dipped, leading him to scored just five and three runs in his next two innings. He rediscovered his form against Zimbabwe, scoring 74 not out, before scoring 81 not out against the West Indies.

His form was inconsistent in the final few group matches, where he scored 24, 73 not out, and 3. Although the Kiwis were eliminated at the semi-final stage, Crowe was still able to produce a good innings, scoring 91 off 83 balls.

Sanath Jayasuriya – 1996

When Sri Lanka won the 1996 cricket World Cup, they weren’t just blessed with it being their first World Cup title, they also won the award for the Man of the Tournament.

Sri Lanka won every single match during the tournament and Sanath Jayasuriya played in the six matches that went ahead. Although he started sluggishly, scoring just six runs against Zimbabwe, he was soon producing better performances, starting with the game against India, in which he scored 79 runs off 76 balls.

He followed this up with 44 runs against Kenya and 82 against England to help Sri Lanka reach the semi-finals. Up against India once again, Jayasuriya struggled and could only manage one run before being out. It was his bowling which saved the day, taking three wickets and triggered a collapse in the Indian batting.

After progressing to the final, the stage was set for Sri Lanka to take on Australia. Unfortunately this was Jayasuriya’s worst performance, scoring just nine runs and taking just one wicket in 43 balls.

Lance Klusener – 1999

During the 1999 Cricket World Cup, South Africa’s Lance Klusener scored 281 runs and took 19 wickets as he became the third recipient of the Man of the Tournament award. He was a solid performer for the most part when batting, but it was his bowling that really made him stand out from the rest of the field.

He finished the tournament as neither the top run-scorer nor with the most wickets, but because of his all-round performance during the tournament, he was given the award.

Sachin Tendulkar – 2003

Sachin Tendulkar was one of the players on the receiving end of Sanath Jayasuriya’s dominant display in 1996, but seven years later, he would produce one of his own, to take the award home for himself.

He scored an incredible 673 runs during the tournament, taking two wickets. He only managed one century, which came in their match against Namibia. He came close on two other occasions, when he scored 98 against Pakistan and 97 against Sri Lanka.

Glenn McGrath – 2007

During Australia’s triumphant campaign in the 2007 Cricket World Cup, Glenn McGrath took an extraordinary 26 wickets on his way to being named the Man of the Tournament. Although McGrath had been dominant throughout the rest of the tournament, he struggled in the final against Sri Lanka, taking just one wicket in seven overs. But crucially, he prevented the Sri Lankans from scoring too many, as Sri Lanka could only pick up 31 runs when McGrath was bowling.

Yuvraj Singh – 2011

When India won their second World Cup in 2011, it was Yuvraj Singh who was their standout player. By scoring 362 runs and taking 15 wickets, Singh put himself in the history books by becoming the sixth player to win the Man of the Tournament award.

He formed a strong partnership with MS Dhoni, which proved to be India’s most reliable weapon during the tournament, and ultimately saw them crowned champions, defeating Sri Lanka in the final.

Mitchell Starc – 2015

The most recent winner of the Man of the Tournament award, Mitchell Starc took 22 wickets during the tournament, which helped Australia win their fifth World Cup. It was during the final that Starc made a huge impact, bowling out New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum for zero in the first over of the final. From this moment, Australia were in the ascendancy and eventually won the match by seven wickets.


Other odds

Royal Rumble 2020.
Grammy Awards 2020.
Academy Awards 2020.
Schwalbe Classic 2020.
Tour Down Under 2020.

DreamLeague Season 13.

Champions League.
Next Manchester United manager.