Basketball Chess Cycling Darts E-sports Football Golf Handball Horse racing Ice Hockey Motorsport Poker Politics Snooker Tennis Trotting WWE Other sports Other odds
Old odds Upcoming odds Tips Sports Betting Casinos

Clásica de San Sebastián 2017 odds

Who wins Clásica de San Sebastián 2017?

Odd unit: EU | UK | US
Odds Coming Soon

Edition 37 of the San Sebastian Classic will be held on Saturday the 29th of July, 2017. The hilly classic in the Basque Country dates back to 1981. The race is held on the first Saturday after the Tour de France. The Donostia-Donostia Klasikoa, as the Basques prefer to call their race, is most often won by Marino Lejaretta. He took the first two editions (1981 and 1982) and went on to take his third victory in 1987, making him record holder. Lejaretta, Francesco Casagrande and Laurent Jalabert are the only riders to win the race twice in succession.

In 2016, Bauke Mollema soloed to victory, finishing ahead of Tony Gallopin and Alejandro Valverde.

Not surprisingly, many of the names that have highlighted the Tour de France will be in this test belonging to the UCI Pro Tour and considered one of the most important appointments of international cycling. The 19 confirmed teams for 2017 are AG2R La Mondiale, Astana, Bahrain-Merida, BMC Racing, Bora-Ax, Cannondale-Drapac, dimension Data, FDJ, Katusha-Alpecin, Lotto NL-Jumbo, Lotto-soudal, Movistar, Orica-Scott, Quick-Step Floors, Cloud, Sunweb, Trek Segafredo, UAE Emirates and Caja Rural-Seguros RGA.

This edition of the San Sebastian Classics will be the last career race of Haimar Zubeldia after 20 years as a professional. Cyclists like Mikel Landa , Alberto Contador and Tony Gallopin will not miss the event, on July 29, the first Saturday after the Tour de France.

The public of San Sebastian will fire Zubeldia in the most important classic of the Basque Country. This year's tour "does not change much compared to last year, although it is slightly longer than the last editions," explained Eraso.

The route has been presented at the City Hall of the capital of Gipuzkoa: two ascents to the Alto de Jaizkibel (1st category), two to the Arkale and the complicated end of the slope in Igeldo, very close to the end. A route for cyclists who know how to measure themselves in the high and medium mountains. The route includes twelve kilometers more than last year and cyclists must surpass eight mountain passes, two of first (Jaizkibel), four of second (Iturburu, Arkale and Murgil) and two of third (Meagas and Alkiza).

Alejandro Valverde will not be in Donostia. He has won the race twice and has entered the podium in another 2 editions but at the moment he is still recovering from knee surgery after his serious crash in the Tour de France.

Victory options are more open, with Tony Gallopin , winner in 2013 and second last year, Greg Van Avermaet, the Belgian who is scratching high on the Tour, although he has resisted the victory, and the layout of the Classic goes like a ring finger and he has an account pending with the race, Luis León Sanchez, who is not on the Tour de France and can feel it in the rhythm of competition, but his quality is beyond doubt, taking into consideration that he is a hunter and a fearsome enemy in this type of race and Rigoberto Urán, as candidates.