Eurovision Song Contest 2018
Basketball Cycling Darts E-sports Football Handball Horse racing Ice Hockey Motorsport Poker Politics Snooker Tennis Trotting Other sports Other odds
Old odds Sports Betting Casinos No deposit casinos UK Casinoranker

Dwars door Vlaanderen 2018 odds

Who wins Dwars door Vlaanderen 2018?

Odd unit: EU | UK | US
Odds Coming Soon

Dwars door Vlaanderen 2018

The one-day Belgian cycling race, otherwise known as ‘Across Flanders’, is the twelfth event of the 2018 UCI World Tour. This year, the 73rd edition of the Dwars door Vlaanderen takes place on Wednesday 28th March. Having been held every year since 1945, it’s an iconic fixture on the Belgian cycling circuit.

Starting in Roeselare and finishing in Waregem, the race forms part of the Flemish Cycling Week, which also includes Gent-Wevelgem, The Tour of Flanders and the Three Days of De Panne.

As with most of the Flanders races, Belgian riders tend to dominate. Of the 72 previous races, 54 have been won by a Belgian cyclist.

The Dwars door Vlaanderen 2018

As always, the Dwars door Vlaanderen is held just before the Tour of Flanders begins. It is one of the many Belgian races featuring the unique cobbled sections that so often adds an exciting element for the fans. With the majority of the one-day route being in the Flemish Ardennes, the peloton will ride for 181 km. and is the route includes many of the famous Flemish hills, it’s seen as the perfect preparation for the Tour of Flanders.

Overall the 2018 route includes twelve climbs and three sections of cobbles. The route begins with a fairly flat first 80 km. However, the riders are then challenged with a number of climbs including Vossenhol, Holstraat and Nokerberg. The Nokerberg is the final climb on the route, and once the riders have finished their ascent they will have around 10 km to get the the finish, which will include the cobbled section of the Herlegemstraat with just 6.7 km remaining.

The first major hurdle for the peloton will be the Kluisberg climb, after around 80 km. Following that, the cyclists will be treated to a climb approximately every 10 km. The other climbs to note are the Kortekeer, the cobbles of Mariaborrestraat, Knokteberg, Steenbeekdries and the Taaienberg.

Racing to the finish

For the first time, the 2017 edition was included in the World Tour. Winning it was Belgian cyclist, Yves Lampaert. He finished ahead of Philippe Gilbert and Alexey Loetsenk on the podium, having attacked late to break away and solo to victory. The 2017 route was also significantly harder than the 2018 version. Not only was the course around 20 km longer, but it also included the famous Flemish Oude Kwaremont and the Paterberg climbs.

This year’s race is held closer to the Tour of Flanders, which is why the organisers decided to slightly reduce the distance. However, as the final preparations for the Flanders Tour take place, the lineup is expected to be very competitive. Philippe Gilbert (Quick Step) returns alongside Greg Van Avermaet (BMC Racing), Sep Vanmarcke (EF Education First - Drapac p / b Cannondale), Romain Bardet (AG2R La Mondiale), Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) and Mikel Landa (Movistar). Also expected on the start line is Mark Cavendish (Dimension Data) and Alexander Kristoff (UAE-Team Emirates).

The peloton includes a mix of both World Tour teams and Continental Teams.