Basketball Chess Cycling Darts E-sports Football Golf Handball Horse racing Ice Hockey Motorsport Poker Politics Snooker Tennis Trotting WWE Other sports Other odds
Old odds Tips Sports Betting Casinos No deposit casinos UK Casinoranker

2017 Players Championship Finals Odds

Who wins Players Championship Finals 2017?

Odd unit: EU | UK | US
Odds Coming Soon1.001.00

The Players Championship Finals is a darts tournament organised by the Professional Darts Corporation. The tournament originally featured the top 32 players from the Players Championship Order of Merit, a separate ranking system that only takes into account the non-televised Players Championship events on the PDC Pro Tour.

The tournament was first announced at the PDC Awards Dinner in January 2008 by PDC chairman Barry Hearn. It was initially held from late January to February, and originally took place at the Circus Tavern in Purfleet, the venue for the first 14 PDC World Championships. For the third edition, the event moved to the Doncaster Dome. The 2012 Edition took place in December at Butlins in Minehead

The Players Championship Finals expanded in 2016 to see the best 64 players in the Order of Merit from the 36 PDC ProTour events held during the year face off to become the champion of champions. Qualification is based on performances across the series of 20 Players Championship tournaments which have been held during the year.

With the year’s European Tour events, Players Championships and UK Open Qualifiers forming a key part of the PDC circuit, the tournament is guaranteed excitement as the in-form players meet in this knockout tournament, which saw action across two stages in 2016 under the exciting new format which also sees prize money increased to £400,000.

The Players Championship Finals has been won three times by Phil Taylor, in 2010 by Paul Nicholson and by Kevin Painter in December 2011, before Michael van Gerwen lifted the title in 2013 and 2015 either side of a victory for Gary Anderson.

In 2016, Michael Van Gerwen won the Cash Converters Players Championship Finals for a third time, defeating Dave Chisnall 11-3 with a sensational display in the final at the Butlins Minehead Resort. Van Gerwen's incredible 2016 continued with a 25th tournament win and a third televised triumph of the month as he followed victories in the World Series of Darts Finals and Grand Slam of Darts by taking the £75,000 first prize. Van Gerwen began the final day with a fantastic 108 average as he saw off fellow countryman Raymond van Barneveld 10-5, before overcoming a huge scare to win his semi-final against Darren Webster 11-8. "It's an amazing feeling for me and I'm a happy man," said van Gerwen. "It wasn't easy for me today and I had to work really hard, but I'm really glad that I won this trophy again.

In the UK and Ireland, the first two tournaments were broadcast on ITV4 with the third edition being screened by PDC TV. The fourth edition returned to ITV4 where it has stayed eversince and ITV4 have signed a long term deal to cover the European Championships, Players Championships, UK Open and new tournament the Masters from 2014-2016.