Basketball Chess Cycling Darts E-sports Football Golf Handball Horse racing Ice Hockey Motorsport Poker Politics Snooker Tennis Trotting WWE Other sports Other odds
Old odds Upcoming odds Tips Sports Betting Casinos

2017 World Matchplay Darts Odds

Who wins the 2017 World Matchplay Darts?

Odd unit: EU | UK | US
Michael Van Gerwen1.721.72
Gary Anderson6.006.00
Peter Wright6.006.00
Phil Taylor15.0015.00
Raymond Van Barneveld23.0023.00
Adrian Lewis26.0026.00
Dave Chisnall29.0029.00
James Wade29.0029.00
Rob Cross51.0051.00
Simon Whitlock51.0051.00
Mensur Suljovic67.0067.00
Michael Smith67.0067.00
Jelle Klaasen81.0081.00
Kim Huybrechts81.0081.00
Alan Norris151.00151.00
Benito Van De Pas151.00151.00
Darren Webster151.00151.00
Daryl Gurney151.00151.00
Gerwyn Price151.00151.00
Ian White151.00151.00
Joe Cullen151.00151.00
Robert Thornton151.00151.00
Stephen Bunting151.00151.00
Chris Dobey251.00251.00
Christian Kist251.00251.00
Cristo Reyes251.00251.00
James Wilson251.00251.00
Kyle Anderson251.00251.00
Mark Webster251.00251.00
Mervyn King251.00251.00
Steve Beaton251.00251.00
Steve West251.00251.00
Terry Jenkins251.00251.00
Brendan Dolan501.00501.00
John Henderson501.00501.00
Justin Pipe501.00501.00
Robbie Green501.00501.00
Ronny Huybrechts501.00501.00
Vincent Van Der Voort501.00501.00

The 2017 World Matchplay darts will be the 24th time the tournament has been played and features the world’s top darts players.  The tournament enjoys a great atmosphere at the Winter Gardens, Blackpool and will be hosted by the famous venue once more in 2017.

What makes the World Matchplay such a special event and different from many other major Professional Darts Corporation tournaments is the fact it is played using only legs and not sets.  So instead of playing the best of three legs and the winner taking the set, every leg counts and is added to the final total.  For example, in the first round of the 2017 World Matchplay, players must reach 10 legs to win the match and qualify for the next round.  If a match goes level at 9 legs all, the match continues until one player wins by 2 clear legs.  If, following 6 extra legs, a winner is not found, the players will play a sudden death leg to decide the winner, which is very exciting to watch.

As the tournament progresses, from the first round to the final, the number of legs to win the match increases to 11 in the second round, 16 in the quarter-final, 17 in the semi-final and 18 in the final.  In the 2016 World Matchplay, Michael van Gerwen, the current world champion, won the event, defeating Phil Taylor in the final 18 – 10.  So, who is in contention to win the 2017 World Matchplay in Blackpool?

Given he is the world champion and has won the previous two World Matchplay tournaments, you must back Michael van Gerwen to win it again this year.  The Dutchman is clearly the best player in the world now and if he turns up in top form, as he has done at other big recent tournaments, there is no one who can live with him.  Perhaps the closest challenger will be Gary Anderson, who won the World Championship in 2015 and 2016 but is yet to win the World Matchplay.  The Scot is still to make the final of this tournament and his best finish to date has been the semi-final, which he achieved in 2014 and 2016.  Is it time for the former world champion to step up and deliver in Blackpool this year?

Would there be a more popular winner of the 2017 World Matchplay than Phil Taylor?  The 14-time champion of the world has enjoyed greater success in only one other tournament and that’s the Matchplay.  The Power has won an incredible 15 World Matchplay titles, including a spell of unbroken dominance between 2008 and 2014.  The crowd will be very much on his side and having reached the final last year, perhaps he can go one better and sign off in style.

Other contenders include Peter Wright, who reached the semi-final stage in 2015 and James Wade who won the tournament back in 2007.  Wade can be very inconsistent but if he gets it right, makes a good outside bet for the 2017 World Matchplay.  A great tournament is in store and one which will go down in history, as being the last of the greatest man ever to play the game, Phil Taylor.