Basketball Chess Cycling Darts E-sports Football Golf Handball Horse racing Ice Hockey Motorsport Poker Politics Snooker Tennis Trotting WWE Other sports Other odds
Old odds Upcoming odds Tips Sports Betting Casinos

Austrian Cup Odds

Austrian Cup

Who wins the Austrian Cup 2016/2017?

Odd unit: EU | UK | US

The 2016–17 Austrian Cup (German: ÖFB-Samsung-Cup) is the 83rd season of Austria's nationwide football cup competition. It began with a First Round match between FC Karabakh Wien and Rapid Wien on 8 July 2016 and is scheduled to end on 1 June 2017 with the final at Wörthersee Stadion in Klagenfurt. Red Bull Salzburg are the defending champions.

The cup winners will be entitled to participate in the third qualification round of the 2017–18 UEFA Europa League.

A total of 64 teams participate in the competition. Clubs from the 2016–17 Bundesliga and 2016–17 First League are automatically qualified but, as Bundesliga reserve teams could theoretically participate in the First League, may only enter their first team. This means that First League members FC Liefering, while technically an independent entity, will not participate as they are fully controlled by Red Bull Salzburg. The remaining spots were distributed by a fixed scheme to amateur clubs from the nine Austrian regional football associations.

Salzburg is continuing its course in the ÖFB Cup in the direction of the successful title defense. The Austrian football champion won against the first team Floridsdorfer AC 2-0 (2-0)  in the round of 16 and set a new record. With the 21st Cup success in series, the Salzburg team exceeded the previous record of the Viennese Austria (20 from 2005 to 2009). Salzburg coach Oscar offered 2,834 spectators in Wals-Siezenheim a changed eleven positions compared to the Bundesliga match against St. Pölten. On the right side of the squad, ÖFB team-mate Valentino Lazaro, who also had the captain's tie for the first time, together with Andre Wisdom, Stefan Stangl, Xaver Schlager and Reinhold Yabo were also able to prove themselves. The average age of the team was 22.2 years.

One day after the dismissal of coach Karl Daxbacher the St. Polten under the guidance of Jochen Fallmann in the Cup round of 16 defeated Bundesliga top runner Sturm Graz with 4: 3 in the penalty shoot. After 120 minutes, it was 1: 1. Uros Matic and Lukas Spendlhofer missed on the Grazer and even St. Pöltner Florian Mader failed, did not matter because Jeroen Lumu scored in the decisive penalty. The Dutchman was one of seven players who had slipped to the start of the 5-minute debacle against Salzburg in St. Pölten.

The Admira moved to the next round after a 3: 1 against Ritzing, but Mattersburg finished off against Lafnitz in the penalty shoot-out. In the quarterfinals, they will play against Austria Wien, a team which hardly pass the round of 8 against the team Ebreichsdorf.  Even leading 2-0 after the first 15 minutes, the team from Austria’s capital needed extra time to get the ticket for the next stage as even being led 3-0 until the 76th minute of the match, Ebreichsdorf had the power to come back, scoring 3 times in less than 20 minutes. In the extra time, Austria Wien scored twice and qualified for the next stage.

Red Bull Salzburg will face the SV Kapfenberg. The only subordinate club SV Grödig will play against LASK Linz. The semi-final will be held on 25/26 of April.