Basketball Cycling Darts E-sports Football Golf Handball Horse racing Ice Hockey Motorsport Poker Politics Snooker Tennis Trotting WWE Yachting Other sports Other odds
Old odds Upcoming odds Tips Sports Betting Casinos

EuroBasket 2017 Odds

2017 will be held the 40th edition of EUROBASKET organized by FIBA Europe. Turkey, Finland, Israel and Romania will host the European Basketball Championship for men in 2017. Ukraine was offered the chance to host the EuroBasket 2017, but they declined because of the ongoing unrest in the country.

This was decided at a meeting of the Executive Committee of FIBA Europe in Munich (Germany). This is the second time the championship of Europe will be held in four states.

The cities hosting the matches will be Istanbul (Turkey), Helsinki (Finland), Tel Aviv (Israel) and Cluj-Napoca (Romania). EuroBasket venues are: “Abdi Ipecki Arena” (Turkey), “Sinan Erdem Arena” (Turkey), “Helsinki Arena” (Finland), “Polyvalent Hall”( Romania) and “Tel Aviv Arena” (Israel).

The first phase of the competition will be played in the mentioned four states, while the final games will be played in Istanbul, in the halls, “Abdi Ipekci” and “Sinan Erdem”.

A number of 24 qualified national teams will play in group of six, the four best teams in these groups advancing to a final-four stage. The hosts and nine best placed teams from last EuroBasket tournament qualified directly to the EuroBasket 2017. These teams are: Finland, Israel, Romania, Turkey, Spain, Lithuania, France, Serbia, Greece, Italy, Czech Republic, Latvia and Croatia.

Other 27 national teams have chance to join through qualifications. These teams were divided into six groups of four teams and one more of three teams.The winners of each group and the four best - second placed teams qualified for the EuroBasket 2017. These teams are: Russia (was suspended by FIBA in July 2015, but their membership was restored in November 2015), Hungary, Belgium, Slovenia, Montenegro, Germany, Poland, Iceland, Great Britain, Ukraine and Georgia.

EuroBasket 2017 will be held from August 31 to September 17. Beginning with EuroBasket 2017 the continental championships will take place every four years with a similar system of qualification as for the FIBA Basketball World Cup.

According to FIBA Russia (Soviet Union) is the most successful nation in EuroBasket competition with 15 gold, 4 silver and 5 bronze medals. Second nation is Serbia (Yugoslavia) with 8 gold, 6 silver and 4 bronze medals. Third nation is Spain with 3 gold, 6 silver and 3 bronze medals.

Without doubt EuroBasket 2017 will be the most interesting tournament so far because there are many strong teams participating, perhaps the best ever staged. European basketball is becoming more competitive and more fun to watch.

Who wins the EuroBasket 2017?

Odd unit: EU | UK | US