Olympics 2018 Academy Award (Oscars) 2018 Eurovision Song Contest 2018
Basketball Cycling Darts E-sports Football Handball Horse racing Ice Hockey Motorsport Poker Politics Snooker Tennis Trotting Other sports Other odds
Old odds Sports Betting Casinos No deposit casinos UK Casinoranker

Eurovision odds first semi final

Semifinal 1: Which country wins?

Odd unit: EU | UK | US

Since 2008, two Semi-Finals have been held to decide which countries will participate in the Grand Final of the Eurovision Song Contest. The first Semi-Final of the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest will take place in the International Exhibition Centre in Kyiv, Ukraine on Tuesday 9th May.

Italy, Spain and the United Kingdom will vote in Semi-Final 1. The ten qualifiers were decided by a 50/50 combination of jury and public votes. The results were combined and each country's 10 favourites were awarded 1 to 8, 10 and 12 points based on the number of votes. The top ten countries then qualified to the Grand Final.

The Eurovision Song Contest 2017 Semi Final Allocation Draw took place in Kyiv, Ukraine as the contest is formally handed over to the Ukrainian Capital. Ahead of the draw the Host City Insignia was transferred from last years host city Stockholm to this years, Kyiv. Representing Stockholm was Eva-Louise Erlandsson Slorach, President of Stockholm City Council. She did hand over the insignia to Vitalii Klychko, Mayor of Kyiv. The Ceremony also saw a short speech from Executive Supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest, Jon Ola Sand.

Once the handover of the insignia was complete the Semi Final Allocation Draw took place. The countries competing in the semi finals have been drawn into pots based on televoting data from previous contests. This ensures that countries who have a past of voting for one another during the contest are spread among the semi finals. And so it was determined that in the first semi-final Albania, Australia, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Finland, Georgia, Montenegro, Portugal and Sweden are going to perform in the first half, while Armenia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Greece, Iceland, Latvia, Moldova, Poland and Slovenia were the lucky countries which were drawn to perform in the second half which is considered to rise their chances of qualifying to the Grand Final.

The first semi-final has 3 shows which are going to accept the public in the arena. First is going to be the Jury show which is scheduled on May 8th. The show will not be broadcasted for the public, but the juries from the countries that are completing in this semi-final and the ones from Italy, Spain and UK will get to see it and will vote. The second show which is open for public will be the Final Dress Rehearsal of this semi-final which will be at 2PM in the same day with the first broadcasted event of this year’s Eurovision, the first semi final. In this 3rd show, the public will vote and the qualifiers will be revealed. This one will be broadcasted in all the participating countries and the non-European countries that are still able to request the rights for this show. Last year China, Kazakhstan and Kosovo broadcasted the first semifinal of the Eurovision Song Contest.

Between the countries expected to win this semi-final would be to mention some of the most successful presences here such as Australia, Azerbaijan, Sweden or Greece. Judgeing by the trend from the previous few years, the top contenders for the 1st place in this semi-final are Australia and Sweden, but each country scheduled to take place in this semi-final can make the surprinse.

After the 10 qualifiers of this semi-final will be known, they will be going to take part in a press conference which will be live on the official site of the ESC.