American Football Basketball Cricket Cycling Darts Esports Football Golf Handball Horse racing Ice Hockey Motorsport Poker Politics Rugby Union Snooker Tennis Trotting WWE Other sports Other odds Old odds Casinoranker

County Championship Odds

Who wins the County Championship 2024 - Division One?

Odd unit: EU | UK | US
Odds Coming Soon1.001.00

2023 County Championship – Divison One

The 2023 County Championship will be the 123rd edition of the tournament. Surrey would be aiming to defend their title having won it for the 21st time last season.

County Championship

The County Championship is the domestic first-class cricket tournament in England and Wales, organised by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB). There are eighteen clubs participating in the competition, seventeen from England and one from Wales, all of which are named after and represent historical counties.

News: Team to have 14 games each

The County Championship fixture list will remain at 14 games per side in 2023.

The ongoing high-performance review has been analysing where structural improvements in the English domestic game are needed in order to close the gap between county cricket and the international arena.

As counties eventually have the final say in the competition's structure, it is not yet known how those 14 games will be divided into divisions.

The panel's chair, Sir Andrew Strauss, stated in an ECB blog that it will be crucial for first-class counties to have enough time to evaluate the final proposals and to appropriately interact with their stakeholders. Therefore, it has been suggested by the First-Class County Chairs Representative Board that the number of matches in the 2023 LV= Insurance County Championship stay at 14 per county.

Interesting Trivia

  1. With 32 outright victories and one joint championship, Yorkshire has won the most County Championships.
  2. Three of the current first-class counties (Gloucestershire, Northamptonshire, and Somerset) have never won the official championship.
  3. In county, the team finishing at the bottom of the table is given the wooden spoon award.