Cycling Darts E-sports Football Golf Handball Horse racing Ice Hockey Motorsport Poker Politics Snooker Tennis Trotting Other sports Other odds Old odds Sports Betting Casinos No deposit casinos UK Casinoranker

Paris-Roubaix 2018 odds

Who wins Paris-Roubaix 2018?

Odd unit: EU | UK | US

On Sunday the 8th of April, the bunch sets off for the 116th edition of Paris-Roubaix. It’s the third of five Monuments on the cycling calendar. Also known as the ‘Hell of the North’, Paris-Roubaix is one of the oldest and one of the most difficult one-day races with riders having to endure a daunting gauntlet of cobbled sectors before the finish in the Roubaix Velodrome.

A perfect blend of positioning, power and tactical nous are required if a rider is to lift the famous cobble-stone trophy awarded to the victor, not too mention a large slice of luck. Given the conditions, mechanical issues are unavoidable in Roubaix, the timing of which can be the difference between winning and losing.

Greg Van Avermaet is title holder. In 2017, the Olympic Champion claimed his first Monument as he outsprinted Zdenek Stybar and Sebastian Langeveld in the Roubaix Velodrome. Van Avermaet's win was all the more notable given that he went down in a crash shortly before the Arenberg Forest, replaced his bike and then spent more than 20 kilometres chasing back on as Quick-Step turned the screws up ahead. Not for the first time this spring, he seemed to have ample energy to spare. "I had a bit of bad luck before the Arenberg but the team did good work," he said. "Everybody was in the right place for me and Daniel Oss did really good work and everything came together for me."

The Paris-Roubaix UCI World Tour Classic is often called the “hell of the north” or “queen of the classics”. Paris-Roubaix (one of the 5 Monuments) is famous for its cobblestones and classified as a cobble classic. The winner (mostly covered in dust and mud) receives a cobble stone as a trophy. Paris – Roubaix 2016 includes well known cobblestone sections like Trouée d`Arenberg, Le Carrefour de L`Arbe and Mons-en-Pevele. 

Paris-Roubaix is one of the oldest cycling classics. The 'Hell of the North', as it is often referred to, is one of the toughest races on the cycling calender and suits the strong men of the peloton. It is therefore no surprise that Belgians have dominated the race since the first edition in 1896. presents the recent winners and the record holders.

Belgian cyclists Roger De Vlaeminck and Tom Boonen both won the ‘Hell of the North’ four times. Gilbert Duclos-Lassalle (France) is the oldest Paris-Roubaix winner ever. In 1993 he won the race at an age of 38 years and 8 months. It was his second Paris-Roubaix victory. In 1993 he started as the defending champion. The fastest Paris-Roubaix was in 2017, with a tailwind Greg Van Avermaet won the 257 kilometre long race with an average of 45.204 km/h.

As Paris-Roubaix is a UCI World Tour event, all 18 UCI World Teams are expected to be  invited automatically and are obliged to send a squad. In February 2018, the race organizers will announce the seven UCI Professional Continental teams that receive wildcard invitations, completing the 25-team peloton.