American Football Basketball Cricket Cycling Darts Esports Football Golf Handball Horse racing Motorsport Poker Politics Rugby Union Snooker Tennis Trotting Other sports Other odds Old odds Sports Betting Casinos No deposit casinos UK Casinoranker

Gent–Wevelgem 2020 odds

Who wins Gent–Wevelgem 2020?

There is no odds at Gent–Wevelgem 2020 yet, but we have found odds at Giro d'Italia 2020.

Odd unit: EU | UK | US
Odds Coming Soon

Gent–Wevelgem 2020

The 2020 Gent–Wevelgem is a road cycling one-day race to be held on 11 October 2020 in Belgium. It is the 82nd edition of Gent–Wevelgem and the 13th event of the 2020 UCI World Tour. This will be run as the 1.UWT event this year.

Gent–Wevelgem also known officially as Gent–Wevelgem – In Flanders Fields, has been racing in Belgium since 1934. It is one of the parts of the classic races of the Flemish Cycling Week, usually, run in late March before the Tour of Flanders, but could not maintain the schedule due to COVID -19 outbreak this year.

While the event is often referred to as a sprinter classic for its flat finishing terrain, its early-season date indicates riders are frequently challenged by wind and rain, as well as many climbs, including two climbs of the steep, nearly cobbled Kemmelberg. As a result, few Gent – Wevelgem editions actually finish in a bunch sprint– the winner always emerges from a small group of escapees.

The Route

The route of the Gent-Wevelgem on 11 October has been moved to Ypres, but the essence of the race remains the same.

Dating from 1934, Gent-Wevelgem typically adds up to around 250 kilometers of cobbles, hills, and unpaved roads.

The riders in the first half of the race across the flat fields of Flanders before Gent-Wevelgem reaches France after 130 kilometers. The first uphills will quickly emerge, and on the trot, Mont des Chats, Vert Mont, Mont Noir, and again Mont Noir from another side will be tackled. For the last about 90 kilometers, the race heads back to Belgium.

Another mix of fast and acute climbs occurs back on the home-soil of Gent-Wevelgem. The Bamberg serves up to 20% of its ramps on a 300-meter climb before the 3 kilometers Kemmelberg reaches a 17% maximum grade. The route then runs to Monteberg.

70 kilometers left to compete as Gent-Wevelgem offers Strade Bianche's 'Flemish style' version. The route comprises three sections in short succession on unpaved roads with the first two strips gently sloping in open fields. The last of the so-called plugstreets go through the forest.

In the last 45 kilometers, Gent-Wevelgem has restored the Baneberg / Kemmelberg combination. The Kemmelberg is especially challenging as the second climb is on the western side, which means cobbles and a steep 23% slope.

The last challenge of the day is Kemmelberg and the remaining 34 kilometers are carried out on smooth, normally windy roads. When the road passes through Ypres again to leave the place via the well-known Menin Gate Memorial, there is one change of direction. If there are some attackers up the road, the riders would have a sure target.

Participating Teams

Many experienced and expert teams take part in this event every year. In fact, the race becomes a bunch of sprints as a whole as all the chasers run their course. Here are the competing teams and top competitors:

Competing teams: Astana Pro Team, Bahrain - McLaren, BORA - Hansgrohe, AG2R La Mondiale, Cofidis, Solutions Crédits, EF Pro Cycling, Deceuninck - Quick Step, Lotto Soudal, Mitchelton-Scott, Movistar Team, NTT Pro Cycling.

Top competitors: Alejandro Valverde, Greg Van Avermaet, Alexander Kristoff, Edvald Boasson Hagen, John Degenkolb, Niki Terpstra, Giacomo Nizzolo.

Recent Winners

Alexander Kristoff is a Norwegian professional racer, who conquered the 2019 event riding for UCI WorldTeam UAE Team Emirates. He acquired the first position besting John Degenkolb (Trek–Segafredo) and Oliver Naesen (AG2R La Mondiale).

Other recent great champions are Peter Sagan (Bora–Hansgrohe) 2018, Greg Van Avermaet (BMC Racing Team) 2017, Peter Sagan (Tinkoff) 2016, Luca Paolini (Team Katusha) 2015.