Academy Award (Oscars) 2019 Cricket Cycling Darts E-sports Football Handball Horse racing Ice Hockey Motorsport Poker Politics Rugby Union Snooker Tennis Trotting Other sports Other odds Old odds Sports Betting Casinos No deposit casinos UK Casinoranker

Tour of the Alps 2018 odds

Who wins Tour of the Alps 2018?

Odd unit: EU | UK | US
Thibaut Pinot1.501.50
Chris Froome4.334.33
Domenico Pozzovivo7.507.50
Miguel Ángel López10.0010.00
Luis León Sánchez23.0023.00
Fabio Aru41.0041.00
George Bennett51.0051.00
Jan Hirt67.0067.00
Pello Bilbao101.00101.00
Ben O'connor151.00151.00
Giulio Ciccone151.00151.00
Andrey Zeits201.00201.00
Ben Hermans301.00301.00
Mark Padun401.00401.00
Davide Villella501.00501.00
Kenny Elissonde501.00501.00
Koen Bouwman501.00501.00
Mikel Bizkarra751.00751.00
Riccardo Zoidl751.00751.00
Sébastien Reichenbach751.00751.00
Nicola Conci1001.001001.00
Damiano Cunego1501.001501.00
David De La Cruz1501.001501.00
Fausto Masnada1501.001501.00
Giovanni Visconti1501.001501.00
Hubert Dupont1501.001501.00
Ivan Santaromita1501.001501.00
Louis Meintjes1501.001501.00
Merhawi Kudus1501.001501.00
Edoardo Zardini2501.002501.00
Edward Ravasi2501.002501.00
Manuel Senni2501.002501.00
Philip Deignan2501.002501.00
Rodolfo Torres2501.002501.00
Sebastián Henao2501.002501.00
Simone Petilli2501.002501.00
Steve Morabito2501.002501.00
Valerio Conti2501.002501.00
Alexandre Geniez4501.004501.00
Amaro Manuel Antunes4501.004501.00
Diego Rosa4501.004501.00
Felix Grossschartner4501.004501.00
Igor Antón4501.004501.00
Ildar Arslanov4501.004501.00
Ivan Ramiro Sosa4501.004501.00
Kristijan Durasek4501.004501.00
Lachlan Morton4501.004501.00
Matteo Busato4501.004501.00
Miguel Eduardo Florez Lopez4501.004501.00
Nathan Earle4501.004501.00
Nicolay Cherkasov4501.004501.00
Przemyslaw Niemiec4501.004501.00
Sergey Firsanov4501.004501.00

Tour of the Alps 2018

The Tour of the Alps 2018 begins on Monday 16th April and finishes on Friday 20th April. It’s a five stage cycling race, known for its incredibly difficult mountainous route. The 2018 route is full of steep climbs as the cyclists take on the Alps.

The current title holder is Geraint Thomas. The Team Sky rider won in 2017, beating Thibaut Pinot and Domenico Pozzovivo to the title. However, Tour De France holder Chris Froome is set to race in the 2018 race as he builds up to the Giro d’Italia.

The 2018 stages

Five gruelling stages face the peloton. In total, the riders will have to climb around 13,100 metres over the five days. The race, which was formerly known as the Giro del Trentino, crosses both Italy and Austria. The race finishes with a hilly circuit stage - the same circuit that will be used later in the year for the World Championships in Innsbruck.

Stage one begins in Arco and ends in Folgaria, covering 134 km and 2500 metres of climbing. It includes two climbs, the last of which is a King of the Mountain sprint with 6 km left to go. Following the descent, the cyclists will face a rolling finish before a brutal 10% climb to stage victory with 700 metres to go.

The second stage is the Queen stage of the Tour of the Alps, with the peloton travelling 145 km from Lavarone to the Alpe di Pampeago. This stage ends with a genuine summit finish, 7.7 km from the end. The last 4 km kicks up a gear and reaches 11% gradient.

Stage three, from Ora to Merano, is another made for aggressive climbers. Two big climbs up the 18 km long Passo della Mendola and the 13 km long Passo Palade greet the riders, before the route flattens for a flat final 6 km. Overall, the peloton will climb more than 2600 metres on this stage.

Stage four is the first of the hilly stages, and the shortest. However, the riders will still have to tackle Bannberg - a 7 km ascent at around 6% gradient - which presents a perfect opportunity to attack. Following the climb, they will have a fast and very technical downhill section, with the final 4 km being a descent to the finish.

The final stage will provide the peloton with a taste of World Championship action. The stage is 161 km long and the riders will climb over 2700 metres. The last 45 km is where they will join the same route as the 2018 World Championships in Innsbruck. They will finish with a circuit that includes the 6.7 km climb to Igls, at 6%.

Here are a list of the stages:

  1. Arco - Folgaria. 134 km. Mountains.
  2. Lavarone - Alpe di Pampeago. 145 km. Mountains.
  3. Ora/Auer - Merano/Meran. 138 km. Mountains.
  4. Chiusa/Klausen - Lienz 134 km. Hills.
  5. Rattenberg - Innsbruck. 161 km. Hills.

The peloton

Clearly, the race favours aggressive climbers. Alongside Geraint Thomas, recent winners of the Tour of the Alps include Mikel Landa (2016) and Richie Porte (2015). Typically, the race draws in a high-quality line up, including those who have their eyes on the World Championships and those looking to test their form before the Giro d’Italia.