Eurovision Song Contest 2018 Basketball Chess Cycling Darts E-sports Football Handball Horse racing Ice Hockey Motorsport Poker Politics Snooker Tennis Trotting Other sports Other odds Old odds Sports Betting Casinos No deposit casinos UK Casinoranker

2018 World Ice Hockey Championships Odds

Who wins the 2018 World Ice Hockey Championships?

Odd unit: EU | UK | US

2018 World Ice Hockey Championship

The World Championship tournament that takes place in May is certainly polarizing. To some, it is the pinnacle of Ice Hockey Championships, as many nations are involved, and all ages considered. To many, it is simply a tournament for NHL players who miss their playoffs, or who exit early. Regardless of how you feel about the tournament, it certainly is an exiting brand of hockey. It’s open ice, high talent, and well marketed.

To no one’s surprise, Canada holds the most medals in the tournament’s history, including 26 Golds. Canada always has a strong showing at the tournament, and we can already look ahead to who may be a part of this year’s team. By looking at some teams already eliminated from playoff contention, and a little conjecture on our part of who may also miss, Canada’s roster may boast the likes of Connor McDavid, Milan Lucic, Ryan O’Reilly, Jonathan Toews, Duncan Keith, Bo Horvat, Max Domi, and many more. As well, Canada’s goaltending trio could look like Carey Price, Roberto Luongo, and Corey Crawford, a trio that no doubt could be an Olympic trio as well.

Fresh off an Olympic Gold medal, Team Russia (who should actually be able to go by “Russia” in this tournament) will be vying to add to their collection. They will likely have many of the same names as the Olympic tournament, such as Pavel Datsyuk, and Ilya Kovalchuck, but those men could also be joined by the likes of Vladimir Tarasenko, Artem Anisimov, Alex Radulov, and maybe even Alexander Ovechkin. Russia boasts plenty of firepower, but will definitely lack in goaltending depth with Andrei Vasilefski touted to go deep in the playoffs with the Lightning, and Sergei Bobrovsky and his Blue Jackets knocking on the door of the playoffs as well.

Never a team to be counted out, keep your eye on Sweden. With the Ottawa Senators, Vancouver Canucks, and Detroit Red Wings all likely to miss the playoffs, it’s entirely possible to see Team Sweden flush with NHL talent such as Erik Karlsson, Daniel and Henrik Sedin, Alex Edler, Henrik Zetterberg, Gustav Nyquist, and more. Sweden’s defence is also strong, boasting names like Oliver Ekman-Larsson, John Klingberg, Jonny Oduya, and the ever present Niklas Hjalmarsson. As always, Henrik Lundqvist will want to do his country proud, flanked by the likes of Robin Lehner and Jacob Markstrom.