Academy Awards (Oscars) 2021 American Football Baseball Basketball Cricket Cycling Darts Esports Football Golf Horse racing Ice Hockey Motorsport Poker Politics Rugby Union Snooker Swimming: European Aquatics Championships 2021 Tennis Trotting Other sports Other odds Old odds Sports Betting Casinos Casinoranker

Primeira Liga odds – Get the Best Odds at Primeira Liga

Portuguese liga Odds

Who wins the Primeira liga 2020/2021?

Odd unit: EU | UK | US

Primeira Liga - Football with talent

The Primeira Liga (Liga NOS for sponsorship reasons) is the top tier of Portugal's football league system. Created back in the times of 1934–35 by the Portuguese Football Federation, organized by the Portuguese Professional Football League since the 1995–96 season.

It is played by 18 clubs, in a promotion and relegation system with the Segunda Liga. Until the 2020-21 season, the Primeira Liga will have the commercial designation of Liga NOS, due to sponsorship with a Portuguese telecommunications and entertainment company named “NOS”. In the end of the 2019-20 season it occupied the 6th rank on UEFA Ranking.

The clubs classified in 17th and 18th places are relegated in the Segunda Liga, while the best classified teams are qualified for competitions, namely, for the Champions League (champion with direct access to the group stage and 2nd classified to the 3rd qualifying round) and Europa League (3rd classified has access to the 3rd qualifying round, while the 4th has access to the 2nd qualifying round).

In addition, teams from the Primeira Liga participate in the Portuguese Cup and the League Cup, entering the 3rd and 2nd rounds of these competitions, respectively.

During the 86 editions played so far, the Primeira Liga has registered a total of 72 clubs, of which only five have become national champions. The biggest winner in the history of the Primeira Liga is Benfica, with 37 national championships won.

The current national champion is FC Porto, after winning in the 2019-20 season for his 29th national title.

The Big Three (“Os Três Grandes”)

"Os Três Grandes" is an expression that traditionally designates the three main football clubs in Portugal: Benfica, FC Porto and Sporting. These are the clubs with the most national champion titles and, equally, with the most second and third places. Together "Os Três Grandes" holds 84 of the 86 champion titles disputed: Benfica have 37 titles, FC Porto 29 titles and Sporting 18 titles. In the 85 complete seasons already played in the First League, in 51 seasons the podium was occupied exclusively by the Big Three.

Covid-19 Pandemic

As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, after the execution of closed games, the Portuguese Professional Football League selected March 12, 2020 for the total suspension of Primeira Liga games for an indefinite period. The competition was resumed from June 3, 2020, with the games played behind closed doors.