Academy Award (Oscars) 2019 Cricket Cycling Darts E-sports Football Handball Horse racing Ice Hockey Motorsport Poker Politics Rugby Union Snooker Tennis Trotting Other sports Other odds Old odds Sports Betting Casinos No deposit casinos UK Casinoranker

Eschborn-Frankfurt 2018 odds

Who wins Eschborn-Frankfurt – Rund um den Finanzplatz 2018?

Odd unit: EU | UK | US

Eschborn-Frankfurt – Rund um den Finanzplatz 2018

The 57th edition of the Eschborn-Frankfurt – Rund um den Finanzplatz is a one day UCI World Tour race, which will be held on Tuesday 1st May 2018. The race, commonly known as Eschborn-Frankfurt, is one of the most prestigious races in Germany. It was staged for the first time in 1962, and iconic cyclists such as Eddy Merckx, Hennes Junkermann, Alexander Kristoff and John Degenkolb have successfully participated, adding to the allure of the top-class event.

The last three races have been won by Alexander Kristoff (won racing for Team Katusha-Alpecin but now racing with UAE-Team Emirates). Last year, he finished ahead of the two German riders, Rick Zabel (Katusha-Alpecin) and John Degenkolb (Trek-Segafredo) to take his third title.

The 2018 race profile

The Eschborn-Frankfurt – Rund um den Finanzplatz takes the peloton through the Taunus Hills, just west of Frankfurt. From there, a hilly course will take the cyclists nearly 2000 metres of climbing. Those climbs include the Feldberg, Ruppertshain (climbed three times), Billtalhöhe (climbed twice), Mammolshain (which has an extremely difficult maximum gradient of 26% and is climbed four times!) and the Hainer Weg - a ascending section of 1.5 km, just 15 km from the finish.

After negotiating through the windy course and Taunus Hills, the race then ends in the centre of Frankfurt with a flat finish, favouring sprinters, after over 210 km. For the peloton, that means those who want to avoid a sprint finish will have to attack at the final Hainer Weg. All in all, the race is known for being a tough battle, with countless opportunities for riders to be aggressive and attack.

A modern Classic

Previous winner, and now a consultant for sport, course and safety for the elite edition of the race, Fabian Wegmann, says: “We made some small but powerful modifications to further push the Classic’s character of Eschborn-Frankfurt. The newly designed loop now includes two-times the Billtalhöhe, three-times the climb in Ruppertshain and four-times the Mammolshainer Berg in high frequency. This calls for numerous attacks and a selection of the favorites.”

Favourites include Alexander Kristoff, who will be searching for his fourth consecutive title, Rick Zabel (Katusha-Alpecin), Phil Barhaus (Team Sunweb), Tony Martin (Katusha-Alpecin), Adam Hansen (Lotto Soudal), Nico Denz (AG2R La Mondiale) and Simon Geschke (Team Sunweb).