Academy Award (Oscars) 2019 Cricket Cycling Darts E-sports Football Handball Horse racing Ice Hockey Motorsport Poker Politics Rugby Union Snooker Tennis Trotting Other sports Other odds Old odds Sports Betting Casinos No deposit casinos UK Casinoranker

Volta a Catalunya 2018 odds

Who wins Volta a Catalunya 2018?

Odd unit: EU | UK | US
Alejandro Valverde1.061.06
Egan Bernal17.0017.00
Nairo Quintana Rojas19.0019.00
Marc Soler23.0023.00
Pierre-Roger Latour51.0051.00
Simon Yates51.0051.00
George Bennett201.00201.00
Thibaut Pinot201.00201.00
Ben Hermans301.00301.00
Bob Jungels401.00401.00
Daniel Felipe Martínez401.00401.00
Daniel Martin401.00401.00
David Gaudu401.00401.00
Mathias Frank401.00401.00
Warren Barguil401.00401.00
Matej Mohoric501.00501.00
Tejay Van Garderen501.00501.00
Hugh Carthy601.00601.00
Louis Vervaeke601.00601.00
Steven Kruijswijk601.00601.00
Jesper Hansen751.00751.00
Sergio Henao751.00751.00
Ben O'connor1001.001001.00
Bjorg Lambrecht1001.001001.00
Jan Hirt1001.001001.00
Carlos Verona1501.001501.00
Floris De Tier1501.001501.00
Giovanni Visconti1501.001501.00
Jack Haig1501.001501.00
Jarlinson Pantano1501.001501.00
Nathan Earle1501.001501.00
Pierre Rolland1501.001501.00
Sébastien Reichenbach1501.001501.00
Sander Armée1501.001501.00
Sebastián Henao1501.001501.00
Tao Geoghegan Hart1501.001501.00
Daniel Navarro2001.002001.00
Davide Formolo2001.002001.00
Enric Mas Nicolau2001.002001.00
Esteban Chaves2001.002001.00
Fabio Aru2001.002001.00
Kenny Elissonde2001.002001.00
Louis Meintjes2001.002001.00
Robert Kišerlovski2001.002001.00
Robert Power2001.002001.00
Sergio Pardilla2001.002001.00
Steff Cras2001.002001.00
Darwin Atapuma2501.002501.00
Daryl Impey2501.002501.00
Eduard Prades2501.002501.00
Fabio Duarte2501.002501.00
Hernan Ricardo Aguirre2501.002501.00
Jay Mc Carthy2501.002501.00
Merhawi Kudus2501.002501.00
Nicolas Roche2501.002501.00
Pello Bilbao2501.002501.00
Thomas De Gendt2501.002501.00
Aldemar Reyes Ortega4501.004501.00
Chris Hamilton4501.004501.00
Edward Ravasi4501.004501.00
Igor Antón4501.004501.00
Jai Hindley4501.004501.00
Joe Dombrowski4501.004501.00
Matteo Fabbro4501.004501.00
Michael Storer4501.004501.00
Michael Woods4501.004501.00
Mikel Bizkarra4501.004501.00
Niklas Eg4501.004501.00
Peter Stetina4501.004501.00

Volta a Catalunya 2018

The Volta a Catalunya is a men’s road cycling stage race in Spain. In it’s 98th year, the 2018 race will take place between the 19th and 25th of March, and is the ninth race of the 2018 UCI World Tour.

The 2018 version of the Volta a Catalunya will differ from the 2017 version. Last year, the seven-stage race included a team time trial, as well a particularly hard summit finish on stage 5. As always, the Volta takes in a mix of summit finishes, with a few stages that will appeal for the sprinters.

The seven-stage 2018 route 

This year, the peloton will be tasked with tackling three mid-race mountain stages, set in the picturesque Pyrenees. There will be no team time trial, and the race will end with a hilly final circuit in Barcelona. The Volta winner will likely be decided in the middle stages. Stage four, in particular, which is the second day of cycling in the Pyrenees, features a difficult climb with a finish at La Molina ski resort. 

For the seventh year in a row, the Volta will start with a circuit stage around the Mediterranean resort of Calella, which will likely finish in a bunch sprint. The route then takes the riders into a hilly transition as they race across central Catalunya to Valls. Stage third then kicks the race into life as the peloton begin the first of the mountain stages. Stage three is one of the toughest stages of the 2018 route, starting close to Barcelona in Saint Cugat. The route takes the cyclists up a difficult 12 km climb close to the French border.

Stage four, featuring the climb to La Molina, was won in 2017 by Alejandro Valverde on his way to the overall title. Stages five to seven typically have little effect on the battle for the overall victory. Stage seven’s circuit in Montjuic park in Barcelona is more suited to a breakaway group or a big bunch sprint, with the race winner likely long-decided by then.

Here is a breakdown of the 2018 route:

      Monday, 19th March: Stage 1: Calella - Calella. 152 km, flat.

      Tuesday, 20th March: Stage 2: Mataró - Valls. 175 km, hills.

      Wednesday, 21st March: Stage 3: Saint Cugat - Vallter 2000. 199 km, mountains.

      Thursday, 22nd March: Stage 4: Llanars - La Molina. 170 km, mountains.

      Friday, 23rd March: Stage 5: Llivia - Vielha. 213 km, mountains.

      Saturday, 24th March: Stage 6: Vielha - Torrefarrera. 194 km, mountains with a flat finish.

      Sunday, 25th March: Stage 7: Barcelona (Montjuic) - Barcelona (Montjuic). 154 km, hills.

The 2018 winner

In 2017, Alejandro Valverde put in an excellent performance to take the overall General Classification win. He won three stages en route to the title. He was joined on the podium by his Spanish compatriots Alberto Contador and Marc Soler.

In 2018, once more the strong climbers in the peloton will be favourites for the win, and Valverde is back to defend his title. Alongside him are his Movistar teammates Nairo Quintana and Marc Soler, giving Movistar an exceptional team for the mountain stages. The rest of the field is expected to be very strong. Fabio Aru (UAE-Team Emirates), Thibaut Pinot (FDJ), Tejay van Garderen (BMC), Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNL-Jumbo) and Wilco Kelderman (Sunweb) are amongst the contenders joining the lineup.