Academy Award (Oscars) 2019 Cricket Cycling Darts E-sports Football Handball Horse racing Ice Hockey Motorsport Poker Politics Rugby Union Snooker Tennis Trotting Other sports Other odds Old odds Sports Betting Casinos No deposit casinos UK Casinoranker

Tour de Langkawi 2018 odds

Who wins Tour de Langkawi 2018?

Odd unit: EU | UK | US
Odds Coming Soon

Tour de Langkawi 2018

The Tour de Langkawi is part of the Asia Tour 2018, taking place in Malaysia between 18th March and 25th March 2018. In its 23rd year, the Tour, which has been held annually since 1996, is a race that generally favours sprinters due to its mostly flat route. It’s a race that’s fully sanctioned by both the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) and the Asian Cycling Confederation (ACC), and it’s one of the biggest and best events on the UCI Asia Tour calendar.

Last year’s race was won by South African Ryan Gibbons (Dimension Data), who beat Australian cyclist Cameron Bayly (IsoWhey Sports SwissWellness) by 33 seconds and Italian Alberto Cecchin (Wilier Triestina-Selle Italia) by a further 2 seconds. Gibbons ended up winning both the general classification and points title. 

The Tour de Langkawi 2018 sprinter-friendly route

Despite previous years having ten stages, the 2018 Tour will be an eight stage 2.HC race. The route changes every year, but overall the race is favourable for sprinters. However, the Cameron Highlands section of stage five will entice climbers who will see it as a chance for victory. 

The fast men in the race will definitely be eyeing up glory, especially as this year will have no Genting Highlands in the race - normally a stage for the climbers. Therefore, the sprinters will be targeting both the points and overall classification win, like Gibbons did last year. Stage five, from Raub to the Cameron Highlands, will likely determine who will win the overall classification. The hilly 140 km stage will be the hardest section of the tour for the sprinters.

Bunch sprints are to be expected in the other stages, especially with Andrea Guardini hoping to add to his impressive record of twenty-two Tour de Langkawi stage victories between 2011 and 2016. The shortest stage, stage eight, is 106 km, while the longest stage of the race will be stage two, at 207 km. In total, the riders will have to navigate through 1200 km of cycling.

The peloton

The cycling pack will consist of twenty-two teams from around the world. Half of them come with Grand Tour pedigree, while the other half consists of Continental teams from the Asia Pacific Region. The Asian contingent will see the best riders from all over the continent make their way to the start line. Expect cyclists from Japan, Korea, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Singapore and China to join the peloton.

There are lots of options for wins - both individual and team honours. The cyclists will be competing for a variety of jerseys: general classification, points, mountains classification, the best Asian rider, the team classification and the best Asian team.