Cycling Darts E-sports Football Golf Handball Horse racing Ice Hockey Motorsport Poker Politics Rugby Union Snooker Tennis Trotting Other sports Other odds Old odds No deposit casinos UK Casinoranker

British National Road Race Championships 2018 odds

Who wins British National Road Race Championships 2018?

Odd unit: EU | UK | US

British National Road Race Championships 2018

The British National Road Race Championships 2018 will take place over an overall distance of 185 kilometres. The race returns to the Northumberland for the first time since 2011, when the race was won by British cycling royalty, Sir Bradley Wiggins.

2018 route profile

While the confirmed 2018 route may not feature as many big climbs as in previous years, it includes many technical narrow roads as the riders travel through the countryside near Couden Hill and Hallingdon. The riders will also have to tackle the Ryals climb - the most significant hill on the route. It was here that Wiggins attacked and broke free from the pack in 2011 to go on and win. The 2018 route includes two short laps and four long laps. 

Event organiser Peter Harrison said: “The road race route is extremely picturesque, but the riders won’t have time to enjoy it. The narrow roads that typify the run in to the famous Ryals climb force the riders to race hard for position: the climb of the Ryals then gives stronger riders the chance to pressurise an already strung-out field. The eventual winners and national champions will have to be tactically sharp and prepared to go with the inevitable attacks up the Ryals. Then, we anticipate a game of cat and mouse between smaller groups of riders down to the finish.

An elite list of winners

The race has been won by a number of British cycling legends. Since 2010, Geraint Thomas, Sir Bradley Wiggins, Ian Stannard, Mark Cavendish and Peter Kennaugh have taken the title. The current title holder is Steve Cummings, who broke away from a small group with just one lap of the final circuit remaining. He finished ahead of Chris Lawless and Ian Bibby.

Who will wear the white with red and blue bands 2018 National Champions jersey? Expect to see the big British names line up on the start.