Cycling Darts E-sports Football Golf Handball Horse racing Ice Hockey Motorsport Poker Politics Snooker Tennis Trotting Other sports Other odds Old odds Sports Betting Casinos No deposit casinos UK Casinoranker

Booker Prize 2018

Who will get the Man Booker Prize 2018?

Odd unit: EU | UK | US
Odds Coming Soon

The Booker Prize 2018

The list of nominees for the2018 Booker Prize has been released. This will not be like the other annual prizes. It is a special one-off award that includes all the past winners of the award since inception nominated to contest for the greatest-of-them-all winner title. This award has been in existence since 1968 and it was originally known as the Booker-McConnell Prize and it later came to be known as the Booker Prize. Several book authors have won this coveted prize since its inception. Among the books nominated for the 2018 Booker Prize include the following:

In A Free State by V.S Naipaul, the Nobel Literature Prize Winner   

V.S Naipaul is the oldest living entrant for the prize. The book won the prize two years after the inauguration of the Prize. In A Free State talks about the different challenges experienced by the Indian immigrants in different parts of the world. it also talks about the existing dangers of a disturbed world. This book gives its readers a perspective of what the Indian population that is living outside their native country India is going through in other parts of the world. It points out the political squabbles caused by the colonizers to the current local regimes.

Moon Tiger by Penelope Lively

The 1987 book is also among the nominees and favorites to win the 2018 Booker Prize. The book talks about an expansive family tale set during the 2nd World War. It talks about the various hardships of trying to become a liberated woman in the middle of a promising feminist movement. It is about the post-war challenges faced by independent women of the time, the different hardships they were going through to assert their position in the society.

The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje

The Canadian author with his book the ‘English Patient’ is also on the list of nominees for the 2018 Booker Prize. The book is about a World War II story and was published in 1992. The novel is layered with romance and intrigues about four different individuals that fate brought them together at an Italian cottage during the Italian Campaign.  

Wolf Hall by Hillary Mantel

On the list is Wolf Hall written by Hilary Mantel the prize winner of the 2009 Booker Prize. This novel talks about a dramatized rise of the paramount minister of King Henry VIII, Thomas Cromwell. He was a powerful advocate who for eight years played an important role in the English Reformation along with other advocates.

Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders

George is the last nominee on this list. It is essential to point out that George is the sole American contender on this list. This is because the Booker Prize was initially only meant for the Irish, British, and the Commonwealth novelists until 2014 when the U. S was included.

The 2018 Booker Prize is not similar to the yearly Booker selection. It is an extraordinary prize that involves all the previous winners in order to find the best of them all. The prize will be subjected to a public poll and not by a carefully chosen group of industry players.