American Football Basketball Cricket Cyclo-cross Darts Esports Football Golf Handball Horse racing Ice Hockey Olympics 2022 Poker Politics Rugby Union Snooker Tennis Trotting Other sports Other odds Old odds Casinoranker

Vélo d'Or odds

There are no odds currently available

Vélo d'Or 2021

The Vélo d'Or 2021 is one of the most prestigious cycle racing awards annually given to the rider who has performed the best over the course of the year. This year, we'll also find the next best rider who put in the most effort in his cycling career over the year. An international panel of leading cycling journalists votes to select the best rider for the award.

The Vélo d'Or refers to "golden bicycle" in English, and was established in 1992 by the French cycling magazine Vélo Magazine. Lance Armstrong won the Vélo d'Or five times initially, but after USADA divested him of his Tour titles, his results were eradicated. The Vélo d'Or was not awarded to the second-placed rider in these years. Alberto Contador has a record for winning the award four times as of 2016.

Primož Roglič has been selected as the titleholder of the Vélo d'Or 2020, defeating some of the sport's biggest names and dethroning Julian Alaphilippe, who won the championship in 2019. However, Primož Roglič didn't win the Tour de France, but the way in which he performed throughout the season has achieved him a new distinction in the figure of the Vélo d'Or award.

Roglič managed most of the shortened 2020 season. After Alaphilippe was demoted for straying from his line at the start of the sprint, he won the Vuelta a Espana and Liège-Bastogne-Liège to avenge his setback at the Tour de France. At the completion of the 2020 season, Roglič also led the UCI rankings.

Roglič received the award for the first time this year, while Julian Alaphilippe took home the award last year for his finest performance of the year. Other nominees were Tour de France champion Tadej Pogačar (UAE Team Emirates), who was nominated automatically due to his victory. Both Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) and Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Fenix) made the list after having another outstanding season, with Van Aert possibly having the better of the two.

Another important cycling award is the "Vélo d'Or français" award for French racers. The winner receives it at the same time when the Vélo d'Or is given to the international rider.

Other recent recipients of the Vélo d'Or were found from different years are Julian Alaphilippe (2019), Alejandro Valverde (2018), Chris Froome (2017), Peter Sagan (2016), Chris Froome (2015).