American Football Basketball Cycling Darts Esports Football Golf Handball Horse racing Ice Hockey Motorsport Poker Politics Rugby Union Snooker Tennis Trotting Other sports Other odds Old odds Casinoranker

AFCON odds – Get the Best Odds at Africa Cup of Nations

Who wins the Africa Cup of Nations 2021?

Odd unit: EU | UK | US

Africa Cup of Nations 2021 (9 January – 6 February 2022)

The 2021 Africa Cup of Nations or CAN 2021, also known as the TotalEnergies 2021 Africa Cup of Nations due to sponsorship purposes, is scheduled to take place from 9 January to 6 February 2022. It is the biennial international men's football championship of Africa arranged by the Confederation of African Football (CAF). This year the tournament will be hosted by Cameroon as the 33rd edition of the Africa Cup of Nations. The tournament was initially announced to take place in June and July 2021, however owing to unfavorable situations during that time, the CAF switched it to January 2022, while holding the name 2021 Africa Cup of Nations for sponsorship purposes.

With the Africa Cup of Nations increasing from 16 to 24 teams, at least six venues in five Cameroonian towns are scheduled to be utilized. The Olembe Stadium and Stade Ahmadou Ahidjo in Yaoundé's capital, the Limbe Stadium in Limbe, the Kouekong Stadium in Bafoussam, the Japoma Stadium in Douala, and the Roumde Adjia Stadium in Garoua have been chosen to host matches. The tournament's opening match and final will be held in Yaoundé's newly constructed 60,000-seater Olembe Stadium.

The Teams and Tournament

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) staged the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualification matches to determine the teams who would compete in the 33rd edition of Africa's international men's football tournament. Cameroon, who qualified automatically as hosts, was one of 24 teams who qualified for the final competition.

The final tournament will feature a total of 24 teams. Only the hosts qualified automatically, with the remaining 23 teams competing in a qualification competition. The 24 teams will be divided into six groups of four for the finals. Each group's teams compete in a single round-robin match. The top two teams from each group, as well as the four highest-ranking third-placed teams, will proceed to the round of 16 after the group stage. The winners of the round of 16 will progress to the quarter-finals, while the winners of the quarter-finals will advance to the semi-finals. The losers of the semi-finals will compete in a third-place match, while the semi-finalists who win will compete in the final.

Recent Winners

Algeria was the most recent winner of the Africa Cup of Nations which won in 2019. After beating Senegal 1–0 in the final, Algeria won their second championship and first since 1990, while Nigeria came third after defeating Tunisia 1–0 in the third-place play-off match.

Besides, other recent winning teams are Cameroon (2017), Ivory Coast (2015), Nigeria (2013), Zambia (2012), Egypt (2010).