American Football Basketball Cycling Darts Esports Football Golf Handball Horse racing Ice Hockey Motorsport Poker Politics Rugby Union Snooker Tennis Trotting Other sports Other odds Old odds Casinoranker

World Cup of Darts Odds

Who wins World Cup of Darts 2022?

Odd unit: EU | UK | US

2022 World Cup of Darts

The World Cup of Darts 2022 will take place this year from the 16th to the 19th of June. The tournament will return to the Eissporthalle in Frankfurt, Germany for the first time since the 2018 edition of the international event. The tournament is unranked, and it is the PDC’s only doubles tournament on the 2022 calendar. The tournament is also the only major event in June, and it will be the first televised event after the PDC’s first World Series event at Maddison Square Garden, New York. The tournament has been won by four different partnerships in the last four years. Scotland are the only nation to have won two of the last four events, with Gary Anderson and Peter Wright taking the victory in 2019. However, Anderson did not compete in the 2021 tournament by his own choice.

Scotland also won the last edition, in 2021, with the partnership of Peter Wright and John Henderson. They defeated China, Poland, The Netherlands, Wales and then the Austrian team of Rowby-John Rodriguez and Mensur Suljovic in the final. Wales, who Scotland beat in the semi-final, were the defending champions. The 2021 tournament was also hosted in the Sparkassen-Arena in Jena, Germany for the first time. It also meant that John Henderson qualified for the Grand Slam of Darts, which contributed a significant amount of ranking money to the Order of Merit, which allowed him to secure his PDC tour card for the 2022 season.

It is still unknown which nations will appear in the 2022 edition, but the majority of nations that featured in the 2021 edition should remain. England and Netherlands have won the title a record of four times. However, England have not won the title since 2016. As the Order of Merit currently stands, the England duo would feature James Wade, and the 2022 World Championship runner-up Michael Smith. The Netherlands also have four wins, but they have not won the title in the last three editions. Michael van Gerwen, the three-time World Champion, will captain the Dutch team. The Welsh team is set to feature Gerwyn Price and Jonny Clayton. World Champion Peter Wright will feature in the Scottish team, but his partner is still unknown.

The tournament will be the 12th edition of the tournament, and only four players have featured in the previous 11 events. Brendan Dolan of Northern Ireland is one of these players, and will still be in the team, as is William O’Connor of Ireland. Mensur Suljvoic of Austria and Simon Whitlock of Australia have also both appeared in every event. Suljovic appeared in the 2021 final, whilst Whitlock was runner-up in the 2012 tournament. The 2012 tournament is the only one to date that has gone to a sudden-death doubles leg. It was won by the England team of Phil Taylor and Adrian Lewis. The tournament, and its doubles format, is very exciting and it adds a different form of drama to the PDC season, which mainly features 501 singles events. The winning team will also split £70,000.

We also compare the odds at FIFA World Cup 2022.