Cycling Darts E-sports Football Golf Handball Horse racing Ice Hockey Motorsport Poker Politics Snooker Tennis Trotting Other sports Other odds Old odds Sports Betting Casinos No deposit casinos UK Casinoranker

Tour de France King of the Mountains odds

Tour de France 2018 - King of the Mountains classification

Odd unit: EU | UK | US
Julian Alaphilippe1.901.90
Warren Barguil2.752.75
Geraint Thomas19.0019.00
Serge Pauwels19.0019.00
Nairo Quintana Rojas21.0021.00
Rafal Majka21.0021.00
Steven Kruijswijk21.0021.00
Mikel Landa26.0026.00
Chris Froome34.0034.00
Mikel Nieve41.0041.00
Romain Bardet41.0041.00
Daniel Martin51.0051.00
Pierre Rolland51.0051.00
Tom Dumoulin51.0051.00
David Gaudu67.0067.00
Domenico Pozzovivo67.0067.00
Thomas De Gendt67.0067.00
Adam Yates101.00101.00
Bauke Mollema101.00101.00
Damiano Caruso101.00101.00
Jakob Fuglsang101.00101.00
Primož Roglic101.00101.00
Alejandro Valverde126.00126.00
Ilnur Zakarin126.00126.00
Daniel Felipe Martínez151.00151.00
Lilian Calmejane151.00151.00
Robert Gesink151.00151.00
Omar Fraile201.00201.00
Rudy Molard201.00201.00

Tour de France - King of the Mountains classification

The famous polka dot jersey is given to the rider leading the King of the Mountains (KOM) standings. In the KOM standings, riders are awarded points for the order they cross the summit of tough climbs, with the most points being awarded to the rider who crosses first, and more points available on the hardest climbs (the most difficult are labelled uncategorised, with the first rider over being awarded 20 points).

Clearly, this classification favours the strong climbers on the tour, especially aggressive cyclists who like to attack during the toughest sections of the race - such as on the infamous Alpe d’Huez. These climbers may not have the all-round qualities of the general classification winner, so will target the polka dot jersey. Often a general classification challenger who has fallen behind the competition will change his focus to becoming the King of the Mountains.

If the same cyclist is leading the general classification and KOM standings, the polka dot jersey will be worn by the rider in second place. The KOM has been won by the overall winner of the Tour de France multiple times, the most recent being Chris Froome (Team Sky), who achieved it in 2015, and the record for the most polka dot jerseys in Frenchman Richard Virenque, with seven wins.

The current holder of the KOM is French rider Warren Barguil (Team Sunweb), who superbly won the KOM last year, and will once more fancy himself on the aggressive climbing. Barguil won the famous polka dot kersey with a hefty 169 points.

His challengers this year include general classification contender Chris Froome, Nairo Quintana (Movistar Team), Alejandro Valverde (Movistar Team), Simon Yates (Team Mitchelton–Scott), Esteban Chaves (Team Mitchelton–Scott) and fellow Frenchman Thibaut Pinot (Team Française des Jeux). Additionally, two-time winner Rafal Majka (Team Bora–Hansgrohe) will be hoping to regain his crown as the best climber.

Mountainous stages to watch out for:

10 - Annecy to Le Grand-Bornand - 159km
11 - Albertville to La Rosière - 108km
12 - Bourg-Saint-Maurice to Alpe d’Huez - 175km
16 - Carcassonne to Bagnères-de-Luchon - 218km
17 - Bagnères-de-Luchon to Saint-Lary-Soulan/Col-de-Portet - 65km
19 - Lourdes to Laruns - 200km