American Football Basketball Cricket Cycling Darts Esports Football Golf Handball Horse racing Ice Hockey Motorsport Poker Politics Rugby Union Snooker Tennis Trotting WWE Other sports Other odds Old odds Casinoranker

High Jump odds – Get the Best Odds at High Jump

Who wins Men's High Jump at World Championships in Athletics 2023?

Odd unit: EU | UK | US

Men’s High Jump

How it works

Competitors jump unaided and take off from one foot over a 4m long horizontal bar. Without knocking the bar to the ground, they seek to clear the greatest height.

All competitors have 3 attempts per height, although they can advance to a greater height despite not having cleared the current one. 3 consecutive failures at the same height, or combination of heights, cause a competitor’s elimination.

If competitors are tied on the same height, the winner will have had the fewest failures at that height. If competitors are still tied, the winner will have had the fewest failures across the entire competition. Thereafter, a jump-off will decide the winner.


In the early 19th century, high jump contests were popular in Scotland, and in 1896 the event was incorporated into the first modern Olympics Games.

The high jump has perhaps undergone the most radical changes of technique among all the field events. The Eastern Cut-off, Straddle and Western Roll are methods that have been previously used by the world’s elite. However, the Fosbury Flop, which involves going over with the jumper's back to the bar and became possible with the introduction of foam landing beds in the early 1960s and popularized by the 1968 Olympic champion Dick Fosbury, is now pre-eminent.

Did you know?

In 1956 and 1957, built up shoes were used by many top jumpers, with soles of up to five centimetres. In 1957, Yuriy Stepanov (Soviet Union) cleared what was then a world record height of 2.16m using such footwear but the IAAF banned these shoes the following year.

Gold Standard

When Ruth Beitia won at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games, she became Spain's first women's Olympic athletics gold medalist, and the oldest event winner.


Valeriy Brumel

He set 6 world records in the event in the space of little more than two years between 1961 and 1963 before winning the gold medal at the 1964 Olympic Games.

Iolanda Balas

She won one-fifty consecutive competitions between 1957 and 1967 and set an unprecedented fourteen world records with a variant of the outmoded scissors technique. The Romanian also won Olympic gold medals in 1960 and 1964, in Rome and Tokyo respectively.

We compare the odds at all events at World Athletics Championships 2023.